UPDATE : 2019.10.18 FRI 15:52
HOME Govt/Politics
S. Korean named new leader of East Asian football body
This photo provided by the Korea Football Association (KFA) shows KFA President Chung Mong-gyu speaking at an East Asian Football Federation (EAFF) executive committee meeting at a Busan hotel on March 30, 2018. Chung was elected chief of the EAFF at the meeting.

South Korean football chief Chung Mong-gyu was named the new leader of the East Asian football body on Friday.

Chung, who heads the Korea Football Association (KFA), was elected as the new president of the East Asian Football Federation (EAFF) at its congress in Busan. He will serve in the post until March 2020.

At the EAFF congress, three vice presidents -- Martin Hong of Hong Kong, Tashima Kohzo of Japan and Sun Wen of China -- were also elected, while KFA international relations director Park Yong-soo was named the general secretary.

The congress in Busan was attended by football officials from 10 EAFF member nations, including North Korea. Four North Koreans, including EAFF executive committee member Han Un-gyong, will leave South Korea on Saturday.

South Korea will host the 2019 EAFF E-1 Football Championship according to the rotational system of hosting the four-nation tournament. The EAFF approved holding the first qualifying round of the 2019 tournament in Mongolia in September and the second qualifying round in Taiwan in November. South Korea, as the tournament hosts, will not play in the qualifying rounds.

The E-1 Football Championship, previously known as the East Asian Cup, started in 2003. It's a four team round-robin tournament held every two or three years. (yonhap)

Kim Sua  edt@koreapost.com

<저작권자 © 코리아포스트, 무단 전재 및 재배포 금지>

기사 댓글 0
첫번째 댓글을 남겨주세요.
Back to Top