Kim Boo-gyeom, former 4-term lawmaker, named as new prime minister
Kim Boo-gyeom, former 4-term lawmaker, named as new prime minister
  • Kevin Lee 기자
  • 승인 2021.04.16 16:42
  • 댓글 0
이 기사를 공유합니다

President Moon Jae-in implemented his Cabinet and staff reshuffles

President Moon Jae-in has carried out his Cabinet and staff reshuffles on April 16, affecting five ministries and Cheong Wa Dae staffs.

Presidential Chief of Staff Yoo Young-min held a briefing at the Chunchugwan in the afternoon and announced the reshuffle of the prime minister and five ministers.

New Prime Minister Kim Boo-gyeom
New Prime Minister Kim Boo-gyeom

Kim Boo-gyeom, a former four-term lawmaker, has been nominated as South Korea's new prime minister, Cheong Wa Dae announced.

President Moon Jae-in implemented the Cabinet reshuffle, seeking new momentum in his leadership that was further dampened by the ruling Democratic Party's rout in the April 7 Seoul and Busan mayoral by-elections.

Presidential chief of staff You Young-min said Kim's affluent experiences and expertise on political and administrative affairs, and a balanced sense of political affairs and ability were considered for the nomination.

The president also nominated Noh Hyeong-ouk, minister for government policy coordination at the prime minister's office, to lead the ministry of land, infrastructure and transport.

Moon Sung-wook, deputy head of the Office for Government Policy Coordination, was named as minister of trade, industry and energy.

President Moon also nominated An Kyung-duk, a standing member of the Economic, Social & Labor Council, as minister of employment and labor, and Lim Hye-sook, chief of National Research Council of Science & Technology, as science minister, while deciding to promote Park Jun-young, vice minister of oceans and fisheries, to the ministerial position.

삭제한 댓글은 다시 복구할 수 없습니다.
그래도 삭제하시겠습니까?
댓글 0
계정을 선택하시면 로그인·계정인증을 통해
댓글을 남기실 수 있습니다.